top of page
Partners with Us

Thu, 08 Jun

|

Revier Südost

CATS of BERLIN. The Musical

Scrap press on, magic off: In June 2023, the music theater combo glanz&krawall will hit the site of the former Bärenquell brewery

Registration complete
view events
CATS of BERLIN. The Musical
CATS of BERLIN. The Musical

Date & Location

08 Jun 2023, 19:00 – 22:00

Revier Südost, Schnellerstrasse 137, 12439 Berlin, Germany

About the event

Scrap press on, magic off: In June 2023, the music theater combo glanz&krawall will open on the site of the former Bärenquell brewery (today: Revier Southeast) in Niederschöneweide and show a musical open-air spectacle on four evenings about animals, garbage and things ripe for scrap relationships in patriarchy.

CATS of BERLIN is an anti-musical that breaks with the conventions of commercial musicals as well as those of classical music theatre.

When glanz&krawall watched Andrew Lloyd Webber's hit Cats on VHS for the first time, they thought: That can't have been all that dancing cats on stage have to tell!

The world premiere of the junkyard musical CATS of BERLIN is therefore a tribute to all the big and small animals that defy the neoliberal obsession with order by never allowing themselves to be fully controlled. When they break through fences, poop on freshly polished cars, or turn neatly trimmed lawns into a lunar landscape, they create little oases of anarchy and resistance. A blessing for everyone who has had enough of perfectionism and a meritocracy.

Who is worth something in our society and who or what do we sort out as "scrap"? What is wrongly marginalized and sorted out and what scrap is kept even though everyone knows that it urgently needs to be disposed of?

Together with the actresses and performers Monika Freinberger, Valerie Oberhof and Kara Schröder, glanz&krawall are writing a new cat musical about these questions. Singer-songwriter Kat Papachristou (Tango with Lions) and composer John R. Carlson contribute the music for this large-scale shredding of society's imperative of order, cleanliness, discipline. 

The musical numbers are arranged and performed live by the Berlin band SCHROTTI STAR ORCHESTER: On a discarded home organ, an armada of children's instruments, electric guitar, bass and mini-drums, they make their way through a wild mix of genres - from musical to indie -Pop to metal.

In the south-east district, glanz&krawall plunge into musical adventures under the open sky, conjure up the full moon and the beauty of scrap metal, play instruments rescued from the rubbish and rock the backyards until they drown out the party boats on the Spree and the neighbors call the cops.

Admission 7 p.m

Start 8 p.m

2 hours without a break

TICKETS

Presale 18 € / reduced 12 €

Box office 20 € / reduced 15 €

Pre sales: https://loveyourartist.com/en/profiles/glanz-and-krawall-5RQHDC/events

BY & WITH Madeleine Behrendt, Dennis Depta, Monika Freinberger, Manuela Langkowski, Valerie Oberhof, Kat Papachristou, Kara Schröder, Marielle Sterra

DIRECTOR: Marielle Sterra

DRAMATURGY Dennis Depta

COMPOSITION Kat Papachristou & John R. Carlson

ARRANGEMENT & LIVE MUSIC SCHROTTI STAR ORCHESTRA (Dennis Depta, Kat Papachristou, Marielle Sterra)

STAGE DESIGN Vanessa Vadineanu

COSTUME IMAGE Sophie Schliemann

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR Madeleine Behrendt

EQUIPMENT ASSISTANT Helene Scheithe

LIGHT DESIGN & TECHNICAL MANAGEMENT Josef Maass

SOUND Benjamin Graf

PRODUCTION Anka Belz / Ehrliche arbeit – Freie Kulturbüro

PRESS RELATIONS Barbara Gstaltmayr

PHOTOS Peter van Heesen

VIDEO Pascal Chiout & Matt Wolny

EDITING Matt Wolny

GRAPHIC Leo Lamprecht

CATS OF BERLIN is a production by glanz&krawall in cooperation with the district Southeast and the Kleistforum Frankfurt (Oder). Funded by the Berlin Senate Chancellery for Culture and Europe. The research was funded by the Performing Arts Fund with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of NEUSTART KULTUR.

We would like to thank Lucas Fauna in Berlin-Wilmersdorf for supporting the photo shoot.

District Southeast Berlin, Schnellerstrasse 137, 12439 Berlin

Diese Veranstaltung teilen

bottom of page

top of page
Partner with Us

Do., 08. Juni

|

Revier Südost

CATS of BERLIN. Das Schrottplatz-Musical

Schrottpresse an, Magie aus: Im Juni 2023 schlägt die Musiktheater-Kombo glanz&krawall auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Bärenquell-Brauerei

CATS of BERLIN. Das Schrottplatz-Musical

Zeit & Ort

3 weitere Termine

08. Juni, 19:00 – 22:00

Revier Südost, Schnellerstraße 137, 12439 Berlin, Deutschland

Über die Veranstaltung

Schrottpresse an, Magie aus: Im Juni 2023 schlägt die Musiktheater-Kombo glanz&krawall auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Bärenquell-Brauerei (heute: Revier Südost) in Niederschöneweide auf und zeigt an vier Abenden ein musikalisches Open-Air-Spektakel über Tiere, Müll und schrottreife Beziehungen im Patriarchat.

CATS of BERLIN ist ein Anti-Musical, das sowohl mit den Konventionen des kommerziellen Musical-Betriebs als auch mit jenen des klassischen Musiktheaters bricht.

Als glanz&krawall Andrew Lloyd Webbers Dauerbrenner Cats das erste Mal auf VHS schauten, dachten sie sich: Das kann nicht alles gewesen sein, was tanzende Katzen auf einer Bühne zu erzählen haben!

Die Uraufführung des Schrottplatz-Musicals CATS of BERLIN ist deshalb eine Verneigung vor all den großen und kleinen Tieren, die der neoliberalen Ordnungswut trotzen, indem sie sich niemals vollständig kontrollieren lassen. Wenn sie Umzäunungen durchbrechen, auf frisch polierte Autos kacken oder den säuberlich getrimmten Rasen in eine Mondlandschaft verwandeln, schaffen sie kleine Oasen der Anarchie und des Widerstands. Eine Wohltat für alle, die genug haben von Perfektionismus und Leistungsgesellschaft.

Wer ist etwas wert in unserer Gesellschaft und wen oder was sortieren wir als „Schrott“ aus? Was wird zu unrecht marginalisiert und aussortiert und welcher Schrott wird behalten, obwohl eigentlich alle wissen, dass er dringend entsorgt werden müsste?

Über diese Fragen schreiben glanz&krawall gemeinsam mit den Schauspielerinnen und Performerinnen Monika Freinberger, Valerie Oberhof und Kara Schröder ein neues Katzen-Musical. Die Singer-Songwriterin Kat Papachristou (Tango with Lions) und der Komponist John R. Carlson steuern die Musik bei für diese groß angelegte Zerschredderung des gesellschaftlichen Imperativs von Ordnung, Sauberkeit, Disziplin. 

Arrangiert und live performt werden die Musical-Nummern von der Berliner Band SCHROTTI STAR ORCHESTER: Auf einer ausrangierten Heimorgel, einer Armada an Kinderinstrumenten, E-Gitarre, Bass und Mini-Schlagzeug klöppeln sie sich durch einen wilden Mix der Genres – von Musical über Indie-Pop bis hin zu Metal.

Im Revier Südosts stürzen sich glanz&krawall ins Musical-Abenteuer unter freiem Himmel, beschwören den Vollmond und die Schönheit des Altmetalls, musizieren auf aus dem Müll geretteten Instrumenten und rocken die Hinterhöfe bis sie die Partyboote auf der Spree übertönen und die Nachbarn die Cops rufen.

Einlass 19 Uhr

Beginn 20 Uhr

2 Stunden, ohne Pause

TICKETS

Vorverkauf 18 € / erm. 12 €

Abendkasse 20 € / erm. 15 €

Vorverkauf: https://loveyourartist.com/en/profiles/glanz-and-krawall-5RQHDC/events

VON & MIT Madeleine Behrendt, Dennis Depta, Monika Freinberger, Manuela Langkowski, Valerie Oberhof, Kat Papachristou, Kara Schröder, Marielle Sterra

REGIE Marielle Sterra

DRAMATURGIE Dennis Depta

KOMPOSITION Kat Papachristou & John R. Carlson

ARRANGEMENT & LIVE-MUSIK SCHROTTI STAR ORCHESTER (Dennis Depta, Kat Papachristou, Marielle Sterra)

BÜHNENBILD Vanessa Vadineanu

KOSTÜMBILD Sophie Schliemann

REGIE-ASSISTENZ Madeleine Behrendt

AUSSTATTUNGS-ASSISTENZ Helene Scheithe

LICHTGESTALTUNG & TECHNISCHE LEITUNG Josef Maaß

SOUND Benjamin Graf

PRODUKTION Anka Belz / ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro

PRESSEARBEIT Barbara Gstaltmayr

FOTOS Peter van Heesen

VIDEO Pascal Chiout & Matt Wolny

SCHNITT Matt Wolny

GRAFIK Leo Lamprecht

CATS OF BERLIN ist eine Produktion von glanz&krawall in Kooperation mit dem Revier Südost und dem Kleistforum Frankfurt (Oder). Gefördert aus Mittel der Senatskanzlei für Kultur und Europa Berlin. Die Recherche wurde gefördert vom Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen von NEUSTART KULTUR.

Wir danken Lucas Tierwelt in Berlin-Wilmersdorf für die Unterstützung beim Fotoshooting.

Revier Südost Berlin, Schnellerstraße 137, 12439 Berlin

bottom of page