Arts and Culture

in Schöneweide

The former Bärenquell brewery lay idle for almost 25 years. Now we are reviving the old site!

Culture is not a luxury and should be made accessible to as many people as possible. That's why we focus on the greatest possible variety and reasonable prices in our program.

In order to ensure diversity, we are in constant contact with the local and international creative industry, offer space for creative development and support artists and projects.

As a cultural institution, it is a matter close to our hearts to create space for ideas and concepts that would not be possible elsewhere, on their own, primarily for economic reasons.

A broad-based program with strong players can cross-finance smaller niche offers and thus provide a breeding ground for diverse culture - free from social pressure to always have to be profitable.

 

The aim is to create a place for intercultural exchange; an urban playground that reflects and enriches cosmopolitan life and the city of Berlin.

By creating creative spaces that enable the development and fulfillment of longings, preferences and desires and know no nationalities, places of refuge and communities of and for social minorities of all cultures arise automatically.

 

The preservation and protection, as well as our commitment to the acceptance and recognition of these minorities, especially the LGBTQ scene, is and has always been the core of our actions. A large part of our team identifies with the queer scene and comes from a wide variety of backgrounds.

 

In addition to our participation in Christopher Street Day in Berlin, there were regular queer parties with a focus on a diverse, international, non-binary or feminist line up and audience.

Intersectional and diverse programming under the premise of sustainability for society and the environment will be our goal. Under this principle, the Berlin Club Commission, on behalf of Berlin's Senator for Culture, Klaus Lederer, honored forty clubs and collectives in 2020, including us. We want to build on these values.

 

Against the background of being a cultural location, actively intervening in the current development of our subculture and corresponding to our importance for the scene, it is our task to act as a kind of pioneer and, above all, to support young people in an appropriate socio-cultural context.

 

In addition to free urban art tours on our site, there are also workshops on these and other key topics. Our culture market, which takes place as a marketplace for aspiring newcomers from arts and crafts, among other things, should not only be a catalyst for unconventional ideas, but also offer space for social exchange, discourse and interaction.

Partner with Us

Kunst und Kultur

in Schöneweide

Knapp 25 Jahre lang lag die ehemalige Bärenquell Brauerei brach. Nun hauchen wir dem alten Gelände neues Leben ein!

Kultur ist kein Luxusgut und sollte so vielen Menschen wie möglich zugänglich gemacht werden. Daher setzen wir bei unserem Programm auf höchst mögliche Vielfalt und angemessene Preise.

Um die Diversität zu gewährleisten, stehen wir in ständigem Kontakt mit der lokalen und internationalen Kreativwirtschaft, bieten Raum für kreative Entfaltung und fördern Künstler:innen und Projekte.

Als Kulturbetrieb ist es unsere Herzensangelegenheit Freiräume für Ideen und Konzepte zu schaffen, die an anderer Stelle, aus eigener Kraft, vor allem aus ökonomischen Gründen, gar nicht möglich wären.

Ein breit aufgestelltes Programm mit starken Akteuren kann kleinere Nischenangebote querfinanzieren und damit einen Nährboden für vielfältige Kultur ermöglichen – frei vom gesellschaftlichen Druck stets rentabel sein zu müssen.

 

Ziel ist es, einen Ort des interkulturellen Austausches zu schaffen; einen urbanen Spielplatz, der das kosmopolitische Leben und die Stadt Berlin widerspiegelt und bereichert.

Durch die Schaffung von kreativen Freiräumen, die Entfaltung und Ausleben von Sehnsüchten, Vorlieben und Wünschen ermöglichen und keine Nationalitäten kennen, entstehen ganz automatisch Zufluchtsorte und Gemeinschaften von und für gesellschaftliche Minderheiten aller Kulturen.

 

Die Wahrung und der Schutz, sowie unser Einsatz für Akzeptanz und Annerkennung dieser Minderheiten, vor allem der LGBTQ-Szene ist und war schon immer Kern unseres Handelns. Ein Großteil unseres Teams identifiziert sich selbst mit der queeren Szene und ist unterschiedlichster Herkunft.

 

So fanden neben unserer Teilnahme am Christopher Street Day in Berlin, regelmäßig queere Partys mit Fokus auf ein diverses, internationales, non-binäres oder feministisches Line Up und Publikum statt.

Intersektionale und diverse Programmgestaltung unter der Prämisse der Nachhaltigkeit für Gesellschaft und Umwelt wird unser Ziel sein. Unter diesem Grundsatz zeichnete die Berliner Clubcommission im Auftrag des Kultursenators von Berlin, Klaus Lederer, 2020 vierzig Clubs und Kollektive aus, darunter auch uns. An diesen Werten wollen wir anknüpfen.

 

Vor dem Hintergrund als Kulturstandort in die aktuelle Entwicklung unserer Subkultur aktiv einzugreifen und unserem Stellenwert für die Szene zu entsprechen, ist es unsere Aufgabe als eine Art Vorreiter zu agieren und vor allem junge Menschen in einem angemessen, soziokulturellen Kontext zu fördern.

 

So gibt es neben kostenlosen Urban-Art-Führungen über unser Gelände auch Workshops zu diesen und anderen Themenschwerpunkten. Unser Kulturmarkt, der als Marktplatz für unter anderem aufstrebende Newcomer aus Kunst und Handwerk stattfindet, soll nicht nur Katalysator für unkonventionelle Ideen sein, sondern Platz bieten für sozialen Austausch, Diskurs und Interaktion.